23 Year Industrial Explosion-Proof Manufacturer

+86-15957194752 aurorachen@shenhai-ex.com


Performance Characteristics

What Is the Protection Level for Explosion-Proof Electrical Equipment

The Equipment Protection Level (EPL) assesses the explosion-proof reliability of a specific type of device based on potential faults and preventive measures, serving as a key safety indicator for explosion-proof electrical equipment.

Condition CategoryGas ClassificationRepresentative gasesMinimum Ignition Spark Energy
Under The MineIMethane0.280mJ
Factories Outside The MineIIAPropane0.180mJ

The levels are categorized as a, b, and c:

1. Level a ensures consistent explosion-proof safety performance under normal operations and during both anticipated and rare faults.

2. Level b guarantees the retention of explosion-proof safety performance during normal operations and foreseeable faults.

3. Level c assures the maintenance of explosion-proof safety performance in both normal operations and specific abnormal situations.

Typically, an explosion-proof device is expected to meet Level 3 protection. In certain cases, however, Levels 2 or 1 may be permissible for specific explosion-proof types.

Marking methods include:

1. Based on the explosion-proof type symbol:

The combination of the explosion-proof type and equipment protection level symbols denotes the protection level. For instance, basic safety devices are marked as ia, ib, or ic.

2. Based on the equipment type symbol:

Merging the equipment type and protection level symbols indicates the protection level. For example, Class I (mining) equipment is marked as Ma or Mb (M representing mine); Class III (factory, gas) equipment is marked as Ga, Gb, or Ge (G for gas).

It’s crucial to understand that equipment protection levels and explosion-proof levels are distinct concepts often confused in application. The protection level indicates “reliability,” while the explosion-proof level reflects “combustible gas properties and equipment structural features.” For instance, in an industrial setting with a constant hydrogen explosion risk (Zone 0), required intrinsic safety equipment would be Level ia, Explosion-Proof Level IIC. In a less frequent hydrogen risk setting (Zone 1), Level ib, IIC intrinsic safety equipment would meet the needs, though Level ia, IIC equipment could also be suitable.



Leave a Reply

Get a Quote ?